Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson // Book Review

since you've been gone

Hello Bookworms!

After months of seeing this book on blogs and social media, I finally got around to reading it!! I present to you my review of Since You’ve Been Gone By Morgan Matson.

Details:

Title: Since You’ve Been Gone
Author: Morgan Matson
Genre: Young Adult contemporary
Pages: 449
Suggested age: 13+
Rating: Five stars

Synopsis:

It was Sloane who yanked Emily out of her shell and made life 100% interesting. But right before what should have been the most epic summer, Sloane just…disappears. All she leaves behind is a to-do list.

On it, thirteen Sloane-inspired tasks that Emily would normally never try. But what if they could bring her best friend back?

Apple picking at night? Okay, easy enough.

Dance until dawn? Sure. Why not?

Kiss a stranger? Um…

Emily now has this unexpected summer, and the help of Frank Porter (totally unexpected), to check things off Sloane’s list. Who knows what she’ll find?

Go skinny-dipping? Wait…what?

My opinion:

You guys. I. loved. this. book.

So it’s about (as you probably gathered from the synopsis,) A girl, Emily, who feels lost after her best friend disappears. Sloane didn’t leave anything behind except a to-do list for Emily. Emily thinks that she’s going to have a bad summer because of Sloane’s not being there, but with the help of the list and some unlikely friends, its’ actually pretty epic. This book is partially about Emily missing Sloane, but also about Emily realizing she doesn’t need Sloane in her life to be happy. It’s really interesting.

I loved the characters in this book. Emily was so real. She was a typical seventeen year old girl, but she was quirky, and human. She made mistakes, but she’s still awesome. Sloane is a very original character who didn’t quite make the right decisions, but her unique personality overrides the mistakes she makes. Frank Porter is a perfect friend. He’s kind of awkward and super sweet. And then there’s Matthew Collins, the over-confident sidekick who never failed to make me smile. I love how these characters all worked into Emily’s quest to finish the list, but also how they helped her deal with the loss of her best friend. The characters in this book are memorable and likable.

I also loved the storyline. With Sloane’s list, Emily had quite the adventure of a summer, and I thoroughly enjoyed experiencing it with her. The list worked in beautifully with the romantic sub-plot. The storyline was exciting and fun. I thought that it perfectly captured a teenagers dream summer.

Another thing that I really loved was how Morgan Matson incorporated music into this book. There are about seven different playlists and countless conversations between Emily and Frank. It made this music lover very happy 🙂

The book left me guessing  and the ending tied everything up nicely. The ending seemed slightly forced to me, but it answered every question. The whole book left me wanting more adventures with Emily and Sloane!

So if you  didn’t already guess, I highly recommend this book. Therefore, I am awarding it five stars!!

five stars

Have you read Since You’ve Been Gone? If you have, did you enjoy it? Let me know in the comments!

Thank you for reading 😀

untitled

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson // Book Review”

  1. Great review!❤️I really enjoyed Since You’ve Been Gone, and would have given it 5 stars as well. I really should reread it- but I think I’ll wait until summer. It’s the perfect book for reading while relaxing at the pool.😊

    Like

    1. Thank you!! I definitely plan on re-reading it eventually 😀 That is so true!! I actually read about 400 pages of it driving home from a road trip. A pool is a much better spot to read this book, but it passed the time!
      ~Lilah

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

